Telkom beefs up the board

Veteran businessman and newly appointed Telkom chairperson, Jabu Mabuza, has been joined by five heavyweight directors in his task of leading the turnaround of fortunes of the government controlled telecommunications group.

Telkom announced today the appointment of five new board members to serve as independent non executive directors. These are Susan Botha, Clive Adrian Fynn, Khanyisile Kweyama, Fagmeedah Petersen and Louis Leon Von Zeuner.

This comes to fill the void left by the mass exodus of Telkom board members in the past few weeks. An apparent disagreement on Telkom’s strategic plan saw prominent businessman Lazarus Zim vacate the Telkom board where he had served as chair for about one year. Telkom also lost five non executive directors and its CEO Pinky Moholi tendered a resignation but was prepared to serve a six months notice.

Mabuza was appointed as chairperson last months to stabilise the ship together with Leslie Maasdorp and Kholeka Mzondeki as non executive directors. The caliber of the new board should allay fears that government deposed the old board in order to push its agenda at the detriment of minority shareholders. The new board is not one which can be easily pushed around.

The profile of the five appointed today was captured as follows:

Susan Botha   

Susan Botha has obtained Bachelor of Economics Honours from the University of Stellenbosch. She is currently the Chancellor of Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, and was previously an Executive Director of MTN Group Limited and Absa Bank Limited.

Botha is currently the Chairman of Curro Holdings Limited. Other board memberships include Tiger Brands Limited, Imperial Holdings Limited and Famous Brands Limited.

Clive Adrian Fynn 

Fynn has obtained a PhD (Entrepreneurship) from the University of Pretoria and a Masters degree in Business Management from the University of Sheffield, UK. He is currently the Managing Director and Senior V P of Global Alliances, an IT Forensic Practitioner and an Honorary Professor and PhD and Masters’ External Examiner to international and ICT schools.

Fynn was previously the Managing Director and Chairman of Cisco Systems Capital (South Africa)and an Executive Director of Siemens Business Services. He is a board member of several South African industrial companies and plays an active role in various ICT policy committees.

Khanyisile Kweyama

Khanyisile Kweyama obtained a Masters degree in Management from the University of Witwatersrand. She is currently Head of Anglo American Southern Africa Limited and previously the Executive Head: Human Resources at Anglo American Platinum Limited and Group Executive: Global Human Resources at Barloworld. Kweyama is currently the Vice President of the Chamber of Mines and a Director of Anglo Platinum Management Services, Rustenburg Platinum Mines, Sovereign Foods Limited and the Walter Sisulu University Board.

Fagmeedah Petersen 

Fagmeedah Petersen has a Bachelor of Business Science (Actuarial Science) from the University of Cape Town and is a fellow of the Actuarial Society of South Africa. Currently, she is an Investment Expert Trustee of the Government Employee Pension Fund and Acting Chief Investment Officer of Eskom Pension and Provident Fund.

Petersen was previously a specialist trustee of Lifestyle Retirement Annuity and Preserver Suiteof Funds. She was also the principal consultant and valuator at Alexander Forbes Financial Services and Sanlam Employee Benefits.

Louis Leon Von Zeuner 

Louis Leon Von Zeuner obtained a Bachelor of Economics from the University of Stellenbosch and holds several international qualifications. He is currently the Deputy Group Chief Executive of Absa Bank Limited.

Von Zeuner has worked in Absa’s retail and commercial banking operations since 1981, where he held various branch, regional and provincial leadership positions. He was appointed Operating Executive of Absa Commercial Bank in 2000, following which he was appointed as an Executive Director of Absa Group Limited in 2004.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *