Major shakeup at Transnet, Eskom, Denel SA Express: List of the new faces

Ujuh Reporter

The Minister of Public Enterprises, Pravin Gordhan, has announced a raft of changes in the governance faces of state owned enterprises (SOEs) with wholesale changes in the boards of Eskom, Transnet, SA Express Board and Denel.

Lots can be said about these changes. One sticking point is the emergence of the name Ronald Ozzy Lamola in the SA Express board. The former ANC Youth League leader who served with Julius Malema, has been advocating for the emergence of a new youthful brigade of leaders in different spheres. He is not alone in this emergence. There is also the name of Thabi Leoka, the rising star in the field of economics, in the new SA Express board. Taken together with the appointment of Trudy Makhaya as economic adviser to South Africa’s President Cyril Ramaphosa, there is some emergence happening.

Gordhan said said the changes were in line with what  President Cyril Ramaphosa said must be dome when he came into office. Ramaphosa, said Gordhan, was very clear that we need to clean up State owned enterprises and reposition them to serve South Africa. The changes he announced yesterday are as follows.


Gordhan said to begin to rebuild the Executive Team, Cabinet has approved the appointment of Phakamani
Hadebe as the new Group Chief Executive of Eskom. He was appointed acting CEO in January. “This is a reflection of the excellent work he has done over the last few months at the institution.”

SA Express

Gordhan said  South African Express has lost a number of its executive managers -several of whom were suspended due to allegations of corruption against them. The Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and Chief Financial Officer (CFO) are among the vacant positions.

he noted that the Department of Public Enterprises had previously seconded officials from the department to assist in filling the gaps, including Matsietsi Mokolo who is currently acting as the CEO.
“I have decided to further strengthen the capacity at the airline by appointing an Intervention Team to support the Executive Team at SA Express.
“The term of the board came to an end on the 21 May 2018. Cabinet have approved the appointment of a new board to the airline, comprising people with strong ethical character and the appropriate skills, knowledge and experience, particularly in the airline industry.”

The new board is as follows:
1. Ms. Mmakeaya Magoro Tryphosa Ramano as Chairperson
2. Mr. Ronald Ozzy Lamola
3. Mr. Thulani Matiki Norman Kgomo
4. Mrs. Thandiwe January-McLean
5. Mr. Kugan Harikrishna Thaver
6. Mr. Bongisiwe Mpondo
7. Ms. Hlengiwe Thandeka Makhathini
8. Dr. Thabi Leoka
9. Mr. Ahmed Ismail Bassa


Gordhan announced appointment of a new Transnet board. It is as follows:

1. Mr Popo Molefe as Chairperson
2. Ms. Mpho Emily Letlape
3. Mr Louis von Zeuner
4. Ms. Ursula Nobulali Fikelepi
5. Ms. Dimakatso Catherine Matshoga
6. Ms. Ramasela Joyce Ganda
7. Prof Edward Christian Kieswetter
8. Mr Aluwani Percy Ramabulana
9. Dr. Fholisani Sydney Mufamadi
10.Ms. Vivien McMenamin
11.Adv. Oupa Motaung
12.Ms. Gratitude Ramphaka


Gordhan also unveiled a new Denel board which was approved by cabinet. It is as  follows:
1. Ms. Monhla Hlahla as Chairperson
2. Ms. Nonzukiso Zukie Siyotula
3. Mr. Mandla Martin Mnisi
4. Mr. Nhlanla Rigney Kunene
5. Prof. Tshilidzi Marwala
6. Lieutenant General (retired) Temba Templeton Matanzima
7. Dr. Gloria Serobe
8. Mr. Talib Sadik
9. Ms. Susan (Sue) Rabkin
10.Dr. Sibusiso Sibisi
11.Mr. Thamsanqa Magazi
12.Dr. Hannelie Nel
13.General Siphiwe Nyanda
14.Ms. Kabelo Lehloenya

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *