First black African woman actuary receives award

Ndivhuwo Manyonga, the first black African woman in South Africa to become a qualified actuary was celebrated at the launch of the  the Actuarial Women’s Committee held in Cape Town recently.

The deputy CEO of Aon Hewitt, Mayonga, was awarded a ‘Women Pioneer in Actuarial profession’ award at the launch of the Actuarial Women’s Committee held in Cape Town recently. She was one of three women of the Actuarial Society of South Africa fellows to receive this prestigious award.

The award was conferred by Dr Mamphele Ramphele on behalf of the Actuarial Women’s Committee.

“We are exceptionally proud of Ndivhuwo. She has displayed leadership in every sphere of her business life and we have no doubt that Aon Hewitt and our people will thrive under her leadership and mentorship,” says Jaco Kok, CEO of Aon Hewitt.

“Ndivhuwo is an active and vocal advocate for promoting women’s rights in the workplace, speaking regularly about the importance of having more women in senior positions and the positive influence this has on a company’s bottom line. Diversity in top management can only be a positive factor in a company’s performance and Ndivhuwo bears testimony to this fact.”

Aon South Africa was one of the sponsors of the Actuarial Women’s Committee event. The Actuarial Women’s committee is an initiative of the Association of South African Black Actuarial Professionals, providing a meeting place for qualified and aspiring women actuaries.  Its main purpose is to drive a marked increase in the number of qualified women actuaries in South Africa as well as to promote the advancement of women actuaries in the workplace.

“As part of our strategy to pursue inclusive transformation of our country, Aon South Africa will continue to partner with professional associations and bodies such as the Actuarial Women’s Committee to ensure gender and race representivity and equal opportunities in this crucially important profession,” says Jaco.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *